Our Sunnyvale Church


Church Council

The purpose of Church Council is to set priorities, approve the budget, and coordinate the work of committees, commissions, and task forces related to our mission and ministry. Church Council meetings are always open to church members. Meetings are held on the fourth Tuesday of each month at 7:30PM in the Johnson-Shaner Room.

Chairperson: Rod Oravetz

Recording Secretary: Ballard George

Pastor: Dave Schlager

Lay Leader: Bob Stetson

Lay Member ACS: Ballard George

Finance: Curtis McAllister

Financial Secretary: Tom Morse

Membership Secretary: Ruth Riley

Church and Society: Ballard George

Membership/Evangelism: Dave Schlager

Mission & Rotating Shelter: Linda Morse

Staff Parish Relations: Dianne Yamada

Church Historian: Pam Hardin

Worship: Tom Tennyson

Church Extension Soc: Ballard George

Nutrition Committee: Ronald Nathan

Trustees: Pat Tubbs

Permanent Endowment: Robert Waid

Memorials Committee: Bob Tarr

Library Committee: Jan Feller

UMW President: Linda Marken

UMM President: Tom Morse

2011: Les Cline, Jan Feller


2013: Margaret Mason

Christian Education and Growth

Coordinates and designs ministries for children and youth.


2011: Lauri McAllister

2012: Mary Wu, Lauri McAllister, Tonya Oravetz

2013: Pat Switzer, Sharon Yang, Esther Kim, Hyun Chang Jung


Church and Society

Advocates and organize the churches response to current social and moral problems facing our community.

Chairperson: Ballard George


2012: Jim Eskridge, Ingrid McCleary

2013: Ballard George, Flo Lord

Committee on Lay Leadership

Recruits Lay people for work on church committees. The work is primarily in the fall months prior to the annual church conference.

Chairperson: Rev. Dave Schlager

2011: Rev. Duk Soo Kim


2013: Sylvester Rajasekharan, Bob Stetson


Prepares annual budget, coordinates the annual finance campaign, and monitors church finances. Meets on the second Tuesday of the month at 7:30PM in the Amen Room.

Chairperson: Curtis McAllister

Church Council Rep: Rod Oravetz

Lay Leader: Bob Stetson

Lay Member ACS: Ballard George

Church Treasurer: Curtis McAllister

Bookkeeper: Tom Morse

Financial Secretary: Tom Morse

Financial Secy Asst: Sarah Jeyapalan

SPRC Rep: Dianne Yamada

Trustees Rep: Pat Tubbs

2011: Les Cline, Sean Baek, Christine Jung


2013: George Dorrance, George Matthew

Library Committee

Jan Feller, Cheryl Herring and Donna Phillips

Memorials Committee

Chairperson: Bob Tarr

Margaret Mason, Bob Tarr, Mildred Knight, Linda Marken, Pat Tubbs

Membership and Evangelism

Encourages fellowship groups, orientation for new members and companions for new people. Also recruits callers for first-time visitors, minglers, and encourages all church groups to be welcoming. Meetings are held on the second Tuesday of the month at 10:00AM in the Amen Room.

Chairperson: Rev. Dave Schlager

Ex Officio: Membership Secretary: Ruth Riley

Lay Ministers: Jim Eskridge, Ellie Green, Annie Ibok, Linda Morse, Bob Stetson, Pat Switzer, Leslie Torrance

Web Site Director: Sarah Jeyapalan

2011: Bob Stetson, Guihua (Sharon) Yang, Sarah Jeyapalan

2012: Vamseedhar Srungarapati

2013: Ruth Riley

Mission Committee

Educates the church on the wider Mission of the United Methodist Church. Cultivates gifts and donations for mission projects. Recruits volunteers for church mission projects. Meets every third Tuesday of the month at 7:00PM in the Amen Room.

Chairperson: Linda Morse


2012: Jean Murphy, Sylvester Rajasekharan, Chris Perianayagam

2013: Effiong Ibok, Vamseedhar Srungarapati

Permanent Endowment Fund

Promotes donations to the endowment fund. Monitors investments and recommends distribution of endowment gifts.

Chairperson: Robert Waid

Trustees Rep: John Tubbs


2012: Robert Waid

2013: John Tubbs

Senior Nutrition Committee

Oversees the Senior Nutrition program and staff. Meets every other month on a Wednesday at 2:30PM in the Amen Room.

Chairperson: Ronald Nathan

2011: Joan Smithson

2012: Paul Willoughby, George Dorrance

2013: Ronald Nathan, Bob Waid

Staff Parish Relations Committee

Supports and evaluates work of staff and recommends new staffing. Meets on the second Sunday of the month after the second service in the Amen Room.

Chairperson: Dianne Yamada

2011: Dianne Yamada, Tim Davis, Tom Tennyson

2012: Bob Stetson, Chris Perianayagam

2013: Kye Young Ott, Jin Ku Jung, Arlet Nicoletti


Corporate directors in legal matters. Responsible for all property and funds. Meets on the first Sunday of the month after the second service in the Amen Room.

Chairperson: Pat Tubbs

2011: John Tubbs, Tom Tarr, Lola Panisi, Sionne Panisi

2012: Janet Clifton, Roy Clifton

2013: Tom Morse, Hyung Kook Cho


Recruits and trains volunteers to assist in worship and special services.

Chairperson: Tom Tennyson

2011: Tonya Oravetz

2012: Tom Tennyson, Penny Cole, Mary Jo Morin

2013: Steve Boaz, Mae Boaz, Tom Tennyson